This exam tests your skills in basic English, showing that you can communicate in everyday situations.

Cambridge English: Key (KET)

Cambridge English: Key, also known as the Key English Test (KET), is the lowest level General English exam in the Cambridge English range. It shows that you can communicate in basic English in everyday situations.

Level of qualification: Elementary = A2 on the Common European Framework.

Who should take this exam?

You should take the KET if you have done about 250 hours of study or practice and can speak, write and understand basic English. This exam is the first step in building your English language skills for work or study in the future. To take the exam you should be able to:

  • ask and answer questions about yourself and others
  • understand announcements and instructions when people speak slowly and clearly
  • tell people what you think about something you read or hear.

What is the exam format?

There are three parts to the exam. You do the Reading and Writing and the Listening papers on the same day. You may need to return to do the Speaking on a different day. You do the Speaking with two examiners and one other exam candidate.

KET / KETfS Reading and Writing Listening Speaking
Time allowed 1 hr 10 mins 30 mins 8-10 mins per pair of candidates
Marks (% of total) 50% 25% 25%

When can I take the exam?  

Registration Deadline Exam Date (Written Papers) Exam Type Fee (Rupees)
Friday 02 May 2014 Friday 30 May 2014 Paper Based Rs6200
Friday 09 May 2014 Thursday 05 June 2014 Paper Based Rs6200
Friday 23 May 2014 Saturday 21 June 2014 Paper Based Rs6200
Friday 27 June 2014 Thursday 24 July 2014 Paper Based Rs6200
Friday 12 September 2014 Saturday 11 October 2014 Paper Based Rs6200
 Friday 17 October 2014 Saturday 15 November 2014 Paper Based Rs6200  
Friday 07 November 2014 Friday 05 December 2014 Paper Based Rs6200

The Speaking part date is determined by the examination centre within the Speaking window set by Cambridge English. The exam will take place only if there are minimum 4 candidates registered for the date.

Sitting for Cambridge English examination in Mauritius

Register for an exam in Mauritius at the British Council, Royal Road Rose Hill.

Please contact our customer services team for more information.